Still working toward #GetHawt

Okay, this just SUCKS. Yeah, that’s right SUCKS.

I just celebrated my 40th birthday. My plan was that I would be back in at least decent shape after birthing two rather large children on my slight 5′ nuthin’ frame. I wasn’t going for beach babe, or even swimsuit worthy…just…more healthy and smaller. I had planned to lose a total of 25lbs, starting with a small goal of 10.

I believe I’ve accomplished the ‘more healthy’ part at least. Back in February, I joined a local gym. I signed up for a 12 week class. I worked my ASS off. Really – I ran, I jumped, I lifted, I drank copious amounts of water and worked up a sweat I had no idea I was even capable of. That was all well and good, but you know what? I didn’t lose ONE DAMNED pound. Nope. Nada. Zilch. Admittedly, I’m stronger, though. I’ve moved furniture around the house, carried in two gallons of milk in one hand and 4 bags of groceries in the other, and various other tasks that I wouldn’t have managed beforehand.

But the POUNDS, people! The POUNDS! WHY? WHY! WHY?

I’ve pontificated round and round in various circles. I know there are some key factors still at play:

  1. Sugar. Evil stuff. I love it.
  2. Lack of veggies. I have a few I like.
  3. Bad sleep habits. Bed before midnight? Yeah, right…kiddos up at 6am though (if I’m lucky)
  4. Fast Food. It doesn’t really even taste that good, right?

So, here I sit. Still at 145.

I promise, I’m not going to stop at McD’s anymore. I know it’s convenient. I know it’s fast. I typically don’t even get the fries and I never drink soda anyway. No more burgers. No more fries. I’m done.

This week, I’ve attempted to cut out sugar. If you’ve never tried that – it’s HARD. I’ve failed at least once every day, but in the end, I’ve cut out probably 80% of my sugar intake. We’ll see where that leads.

My latest workout craze is Zumba. I’m a dancer, so it’s not difficult to follow, but whooo! what a workout :) We burn 600+ calories in an hour!

Thanks to Jen for the #GetHawt movement!

3 thoughts on “Still working toward #GetHawt

  1. Sarah S. says:

    Holy WOW!!!! No sugar??? I don’t know how you people do that!!! Anyway, you and I seem to be in the same boat with the fast food issue. I just posted mine, then read yours – too funny!

    I too am not dropping pounds, even though my clothes are fitting better (and even too big in the case of some of my capris). My butt and stomach seem to be shrinking, but the scale is still putting me at about 145 – not moving a bit!!! Maybe our bodies are just converting the fat to muscle, which makes a difference too, since muscle is heavier than fat….

    Way to go on all your hard work!

  2. […] Wendy Pastrick has been working her butt off to work her butt off since February, and is really frustrated that she hasn’t lost a single pound. She’s got a new set of resolutions, though…let’s back her up on that, guys!  […]

  3. Here I am, already commenting on my own blog – BUT – look at this!!! A whole article on SUGAR (thaks @buckwoody)
    http://lifehacker.com/5809444/what-sugar-actually-does-to-your-brain-and-body

Leave a comment